“Secret” iPhone info in iTunes

The iTunes iPhone info page

I’m not one to pay much attention to iTunes or anything in it, but a few days ago I sat around waiting for a sync to complete and, being mildy superstitious about computers working faster if I click around randomly with my mouse, i started clicking. Suddenly the information changed. I noticed when I pressed either Software Version:, Serial Number: or Phone Number: changed.

Software Version: turned into Build Version:, Serial Number: turned into Identifier (UDID):, and Phone Number: turned into IMEI:.

iTunes lockout

A while back I added a whole bunch of songs (mp3) through iTunes to my iPhone 4. So, a few months later I buy a new computer, and now I have a new library (didn’t transfer the old files as I already had them on my phone) of songs that I’d like to add. So I think nothing of it, and start up iTunes to add my new songs to my iPhone.

That’s where my problems begin. Being used to the open world of Android and Linux, my mind didn’t even comprehend there would every be some sort of software that would have me erase all my previous music to be able to add new music just because I installed the software on another computer. But that’s what iTunes does for you. Either get rid of all your old music, or we won’t let you add any more…

I’m sitting there, scratching my head, trying to figure out what kind of evil genius would come up with such a plan, trying to find a purpose for such infinite mischief. No reason comes to mind…